From the Chair, January/February 2015

Each January the new slate of eight Board members is submitted to the membership for election at the January meeting. The board is responsible for planning our meetings, events and exhibits. This year’s nominees are:
Lee Backer, Anne Chamberlain, Eileen Duranko, Bill Frick, Raquel Gonzalez, Harvey Kopel, Nancy Langer and Tom Wysmuller. Board members are elected for one-year terms and can serve for no more than four consecutive years. The new Board will convene in February.

It takes the work of many people to keep our meetings running smoothly and to be a place we all enjoy coming to. I want to thank our previous Board members: Lee Backer, Anne Chamberlain, Bill Frick, Trudy Fritschi, Harvey Kopel and Tom Wysmuller. They all worked hard together to create a wonderful year, full of memorable meetings and events! Our Holiday party in December was a fine example of this. The Board members extended themselves to make it all happen beautifully! I am always grateful to our Off-Board members, Jacqui Bonavito, Corinna Chifari, Helen Pine, Claudia Schellenberg and Stephanie Schmidt who provide the backbone operations that keep the NYCSCPC working smoothly.

In March 2015, we will mark the 40th anniversary of the NYCSCPC that has been bringing together nature photographers and enthusiasts who support the Sierra Club’s environmental goals. 40 years of providing our members’ speaker programs with fine nature photographers, photo outings, members’ photography exhibits and, most important of all, a sense of community for all of us who love to create nature photographs. May the next year be an exciting one for all of you! May the next 40 years be as exciting for future members as the last 40 years have been for us!

—Charles Dexter, Chair

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s